This almost always happens too late, and ends up describing something that no longer exists. I'm an Applied Linguistics graduate, teacher and translator with a passion for language learning (especially Arabic). No me gusta poner las narices en los asuntos ajenas. Tapas can be anything from meatballs and fried shrimp to boiled octopus or even squid ink. Mosca An annoying person 8. Saying meter in Middle-Eastern Languages. There are also some excellent Spanish courses and apps that cover slang terms in greater detail. There are no academic sources for that, but here's a very plausible explanation: In some places, "ese" (pronounced es-say) is just a slang way of refering to a guy. This site also participates in other affiliate programs, including CJ and other sites, and is compensated for referring traffic and business to these companies, but in no way increases the cost to you if you opt to make a purchase from my links. Meter la pata is used to express that someone made a mistake. But having a good knowledge of these common terms is important as it will enhance your understanding. You've bought a house! With time, expressions become entrenched, but only receive official status after the RAE (Real Academia Espaola) has ratified them. [Poner conjugated] + (article / possessive) + [noun]. Soy Daniela Sanchez, Ive taught Spanish in Mexico to a wide array of foreigners. If youre en la luna, it means you are not focused or concentrating at that moment. Jorge put his arm through the railings to reach the fruit. 1 meter = 3.2808399 feet (USA) Meters-. Pedro meti un puyazo contra todos los que estaban a su alrededor. I hope you find what youre looking for here during your journey into Espaol . Dont get confused by this Spanish slang phrase while mono translates as monkey, when used with the verb ser its meaning changes. And if te salas de madre, you probably overdid it by being a vivalavirgen (breaking strict rules of decency by getting overly casual). Although its the direct